The Gallery Named as Australian Independent Retailer of the Year

Bungendore Wood Works Gallery has been named as Australian Independent Retailer of the Year by the Australian Retailer's Association (ARA).

Gallery owner and Artistic Director David MacLaren was on hand to receive the award from ARA President Roger Gillespie at a gala awards evening held in the Argyle Venues complex in Sydney's Rocks area on Tuesday 12th August.

Earlier in the evening the Gallery was named as NSW/ACT Independent Retailer of the Year making the Gallery the NSW representative in the Australian Awards decided later in the night.

The Gallery was competing against other State nominees including Anver's Confectionery (TAS), Denmark Supa IGA (WA), Flourish (SA), Gemini Catering Equipment and Uniforms (VIC) and Busteed Building Supplies (QLD).

The ARA selection process was carried out after receiving nominations from local councils throughout Australia who were asked to submit details of retailers in their respective regions. Palerang Council nominated Bungendore Wood Works Gallery as the best retailer in its region. Written submissions from all nominees were judged by the ARA with input from academic staff from The University of NSW.

In accepting the award, David MacLaren said, "Winning this award is a lovely and rewarding way to help Celebrate the Gallery's 25th year coming up in three weeks time." David went on to say, "The award helps validate my long held belief of the worth of Australian arts, crafts and designs as a sustainable retailing platform."

The Young Retailer of the year was Ian Sackett , Manager of the Camera House franchise store in Wollongong (NSW), and the Retailer of the Year Award went to the Supercheap Auto, based in Brisbane from seven other National retail chains including Woolworths, David Jones, JB Hi Fi Limited, Rebel Sport Limited, Sussan Corporation, Noni B Limited and The Reject Shop group.

The Australian Independent Retailer of the Year award continues a tradition for the Gallery in continuing to win major awards including two National Tourism Awards for Tourism Retailing in 1992 and 1993 and eleven other ACT and NSW state and territory awards over the past 20 years. The dual awards are now on display in the Gallery’s foyer area. 

Thursday 14 August 2008